What I’m Reading

23 11 2010

Cover of "Bink and Gollie (Junior Library...

Cover via Amazon

Someone recently asked me to talk about what books I am reading.  I have had a Sony E-Book for about 6 years…before all of the Nooks, Kindles, etc.  So I have about 5-7 books that I am reading at any given time…there is something about having options no matter where you go…but, too…there is something about holding a book and smelling the pages…as well.  My friends used to make fun of me because I would go away for a weekend and I would have a change or two of clothes, but I would have 4-5 books…like I was going to read them all…like I was going to read any.  Books are a comfort to me, you may understand what I am talking about.  No matter where you are or what is going on, a book can be an escape…a feeding of the mind when all else doesn’t feel good.  A book is like a piece of candy for the soul…another next word to keep you focused in the now…a bright thought.  Ok, I will stop, but if you know me…you actually can see the truth in these words.

So, here are some of the books I am currently reading:

Children’s Books:

  1. The Penderwicks: A summer tale of four sisters, two rabbits, and a very intersting boy, Jeanne Birdsall(Yearling)
  2. Bink and Gollie, Kate DiCamillo and Alison McGhee (Candlewick Press)
  3. The Candymakers, Wendy Mass (Little Brown Books)

Fiction:

  1. Petals From The Sky, Mingmei Yip
  2. Hearts on a String, Kris Radish
  3. Heart and Soul, Maeve Binchy
  4. Belong to Me, Marisa de los Santos

Non-Fiction:

  1. Defy Gravity, Caroline Myss
  2. The Emotion Machine, Marvin Minsky
  3. Peace From Broken Pieces, Lyanla Vanzant

How is that for starters?  I always invite a dialog about any of the books if you want to send in comments or questions.  Happy reading…

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

