Snow Day Moments


 If you are in the northeast, you probably are having snow.  Is there anything better than snow?  Well, ok, yeah…there is…but snow is one of those favorite things on the top of my list.

So what are you doing to celebrate you on a day like today?  You might be at work, but that doesn’t mean you can’t celebrate you…take a moment to look out the window…open the window and feel the brisk cold…have an extra cup of warm tea…

My clients cancelled and I took a moment and asked what would feel good for me today…so I thought I would share my day with you…

I cleaned  – yuck for me, but I try to make it palatable by singing, meditating, praying…it felt good because I am having some friends over and I am now done cleaning a day early.

In trying to find my fondue put, I found my spices for masala.  Before I made masala, I cleaned my spice cabinet and the big cabinet above the oven (that never gets cleaned)…I celebrate me every time I throw some things away that aren’t necessary or “I will get around to using someday”…getting rid of clutter is very celebratory.

And…I made garam masala (Indian Spice mix).  A few years ago I took Ayurvedic cooking classes with Linnea Jepsen and learned to make different masalas…and what better day than today to make a batch.  I use it for sauteing vegetables…I add it to rice…and sometimes I put olive oil on pita and sprinkle it with masala and then I broil the pita until it is crisp…nice crunch when I get the crunch cravings.  Thought I would share the recipe with you:

My Masala

(I say that because I didn’t follow a recipe…as usual…and these spices are what I mixed together today.)  Doesn’t it look great?  I wish you could smell it…it has a wonderful aroma.

4 TBS Coriander Seed

2 TBS Cumin Seed (I used half white and half black)

1 TBS White Peppercorns

1 TBS Fenugreek

1 tsp Black Cardimom

1 tsp Clove

1 tsp Cinnamon

Dry roast all of the above in a pan until browned (be careful to not burn)

Grind in coffee grinder

Add: 1 1/2 tsp  Dry Ginger Powder

Store in a Air-tight container

I was taught to put some in ghee or olive oil in a pan for a few minutes before adding vegetables.

I celebrate me when I take time to cook with care for me.  What are you doing today to celebrate you?  Please share how today inspired you to celebrate you…we would all like to hear.  Have a great snowy day!

Leave a Reply

