Ginger Mango Yogurt Pie


Tried a great recipe this weekend found in Whole Living Magazine  (March 2011, pg 54)…I would highly recommend it…of course I made a few modifications, but it was great…and actually healthy as well…can’t wait for you to try it…

1.5 cups granola (I used Udi’s organic gluten free)

2 Tbs sugar (recipe calls for 3 Tbs)

4 Tbs unsalted butter, melted

8 oz. Neufchatel cheese, room temperature

1 cup Greek yogurt (2%) (recipe calls for 3/4 cup)

2 Tbs honey (plus more for drizzling)

2 tsp grated fresh ginger (recipe calls for 1 tsp)

1 mango, sliced

(Melted dark chocolate…I had some left over from making chocolate covered strawberries…so I drizzled on the pie shell after it came out of the oven before I put the cheese mixture in it…always a little something extra, you know.)

Pulse granola, and sugar in food processor, mix in melted butter, press in 9 inch pie pan and bake approx 10 minutes at 375 degrees until brown…remove from oven (put a plate over it and sit it out in the snow – that is what I did), put on a rack to cool.

Beat cheese in mixer until smooth, add yogurt, honey, and grated ginger…

Put cheese mixture into pie shell and refrigerate 6 hours or more…

Slice mangos and abstractly or uniformly place on top of pie to serve…

Can’t wait for the next occasion to serve it…

Thought I would humor you with my squirrel pictures…

This picture shows one of my buddies saying “more”, but I take it as “more, thank you”…

This picture shows him saying, “please”, but he just sat back down when I snapped the picture…

Lastly, this picture shows him doing a different sign, you figure that one out…

Leave a Reply

