Grace in the “Whole” Experience

22 03 2011

Landing with grace

"Under the Wings of Grace"

In our fast paced lives, sometimes I think we move too quickly, and miss the complete experience around knowing and growing.  Well, wasn’t that an elusive beginning?  Let me back up.  I think we go through these experiences, learning experiences, teaching moments in our lives, and as soon we get an ah-ha moment or an insight, or a level of greater understanding in our lives, I think we see it as a “I mastered that” moment and we move onto the next sought after ah-ha moment.  There is so much that we miss though…or we move into more roadblocks or complications…which breeds frustration, “woe is me”, “never-can-get-out-from-under-it” feelings.  I don’t think these experiences are part of the “next experience”, I think these feelings/experiences are part of the echo of the original teaching moment.

I recently interacted with a friend and was sad about something that was going on in our interactions.  I dealt with the sadness, I thought.  I muddled it over, experienced all of the feelings around the circumstance, and I thought I understood more about me, the feelings, and my interactions with her. (In other words – inside, I thought I arrived…mastered it.)  In the days that followed I found myself sad, confused, disappointed in my feelings and reactions with other people around me and different circumstances… and I found myself feeling stuck in the sadness.  I became very introspective and blew the issue (in my head) out of proportion.

I think when I looked at it from a third-party perspective; I never allowed the flow, the completeness, the aftermath or “echo” of the experience to have its place in the process.  Just as in life, I think the experiences in our lives have a flow, ripple, wave; for those who are analytical, a bell-curve…a downside to the ah-ha moment.  I wanted to quickly say I mastered the sadness and move on…but not giving myself the time and space to be ok in the sadness, my next experiences were confounded.

Once again I am reminded that it is not about arrival or mastery-and-move-on, but by being present with feelings, allowing, and living in the grace that all feelings are ok to experience (all the way through).  I hope you live and rest in grace today.  Let whatever feelings are there be ok today, and give yourself whatever you need to be ok with the process.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

