Words and You

14 02 2012

Watch your thoughts, for they become words.

Watch your words, for they become actions.

Watch your actions, for they become habits.

Watch your habits, for they become character.

Watch your character, for it becomes your destiny.

                                                                                                                – Anonymous

 This quote is intense and yet, in a way, true.  In continuing on the subject of words, as is true of anything, words are most powerful, purposeful, and beautiful, and at the same time, they can be most dangerous, hurting, and offensive.  I love that we have freedom of speech, and freedom with words.  I like that words, in this time of instant communication can be sent from anywhere, for anyone, with immediate purposes.  Concurrently, given freedom and this instantaneous communication through words, words can be cheap, quick, not thought through, and hurtful both to ourselves and others.  At times I cringe reading other peoples’ Tweets or Facebook comments, thinking, “Do they know what they just said?” or “How they just sounded?” or “Who just read that?”  When I read into other’s thoughts through their words in those venues, I often think how frustrated they are with themselves, or how negative they are about themselves, or afraid, hurt, sad, or jealous, because if they weren’t, their words wouldn’t flow so negatively.

Which brings me to the point I was pondering today – we can’t speak into other’s lives or their use of words, but what we can do is listen to our own words.  If our words are negative, condescending, hurting, judging, mean, or loose, what is going on inside of us…those are the things we can control or address.  As the quote above states, our words represent our thoughts…listen to your words.  Listen to the things you say about others.  Listen to the things you say about yourself.  Are you words critical about yourself? “That was a stupid thought.” “I am so dumb sometimes.”  “I should be shot.”  “If I had a brain.”  Ever hear yourself saying these things?  Some call these words “self sabotaging”.  These statements are not your destiny.  Don’t let them become your destiny.  Stop them, cancel them, clear them, change your thought pattern so that you don’t live in such vibration, such beliefs, for not only do you attract into your life such negativity, but you also attract others’ similar thoughts and beliefs about you.  My friend has studied the “Mastery of Words”, and has taught me so much about listening to my words for what they are attracting or really saying…and sometimes they are not purposeful for moving me in a forward direction.

One who studies words, would probably have much to say about what I just wrote, in regards to attraction and negativity, I appreciate that.  As my friend says, when you start to be cognizant of your words, you find yourself saying little…

So with that said, I will say little more…except that I appreciate the freedom we have with words, I appreciate others’ kind and insightful words, and I appreciate the creativity in words…thank you for sharing your words…and letting me share mine.

Actions

Information

4 responses

15 02 2012
Sonali Dalal

Wonderful words!

15 02 2012
Kris Kennedy

Thanks, Sonali…always appreciate feedback…read your recent poem…great, so much truth…

15 02 2012
Sonali Dalal

Thanks Kris! I am new to writing,so it helps to get such comments!

15 02 2012
Kris Kennedy

Me too, really…

Leave a Reply

