Flash Friday Fictioneers


I didn’t take the time this week to share any ponderings or integrative thoughts, but I had so much fun last week with writing for the Flash Friday Fictioneers that I decided to write a piece of fiction for this photo.  So if you are following my blog with my integrative thinking, stay tuned, and if you want to read a little fiction that I wrote this week, please enjoy.

A crusty marshmallow!  That’s what he was.  Look at his property.  “A man’s heart is known by his possessions,” those were his words, not mine.

He was a man of few words – really few anything.  He used to scare the daylights out of me.  One day when I was a kid, my brother dared me to climb on “the old man’s” tractor. (He was really Grandpa Joe to us, but everyone, including us called him Old Man.) 

So, yeah, he caught me on his tractor.  I was about seven, I think.  I heard this shrieking whistle.  I looked up and there stood the Old Man, cigar in mouth, leaning up against the fence post.  I knew that flick of his head. Time couldn’t go slow enough. I climbed down and began that torturous trek to meet him.  He never moved, except to take that periodic puff.  Not sure why I was so damn scared. I got to him and looked up.  He gave me that look, shook his head a time or two, and pushed me aside with that final dismissing brush of his jaw-never a word said, but I knew.

The Old Man’s gone now.   I’m left with his possessions.  Somehow it is ok, ’cause I got a piece of that crusty marshmallow’s heart.

43 Replies to “Flash Friday Fictioneers”

    1. I know…I noticed that too…I was so excited that, by accident I finished last weeks fiction at exactly 100 words…I will work hard to get back to that…thanks for stopping by

  1. good story Kris! Who cares if you went over 100 words–it’s not a hard and fast rule for the group!! This shows some good insight into crusty old marshmallows–I’ve had the pleasure of knowing 1 or 2 and this definitely relates to my experience. I really liked it! 🙂

    1. Wow, Anne, great to get your input…thanks. It is not a true story, I truly have just been dabbling with adult fiction. My writing experiences have been with picture books and early readers…so this has been so much fun.

  2. Great opener, first of all. First line of the second paragraph, I stumbled on. Great description in the third. I love the whole characterisation of the story in general, and the last paragraph, ambiguous though it was, was an ass kicker.

  3. He sounds tough and salty with quite the temper. I wonder if the child was also a part of those treasured possessions. Or if the tractor and his beat-up truck and who-knows-whatever-else were all he had room for. Don’t know why I thought he has a temper–the type that pounces out of nowhere. Probably because the child was so frightened and he didn’t even say a word. Great read!

    Here’s mine: http://rnfontenot.wordpress.com/2012/03/30/flash-fiction-friday/

  4. Dear Kris,

    The image of the old man leaning, puffing, and motioning with his head all are tucked neatly into my writer’s brain now, grist for the mill. I hope you recognize him should he ever show up in my work. A very nice story and well rendered.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  5. Wow…your description of him was right on…with great details. Growing up, there were a few old men like him in the neighborhood, but they weren’t called old crusty marshmallows…but creepy, dirty old men. We ran away from them. A great read. Well done. Here’s mine:
    http://www.triplemoonstar.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

